Home & vehicle repair: Home
Welcome to Winnipeg Public Library's DIY Home & Vehicle Repair Guide
Here you will find information for any project that you plan to design, build, or fix yourself: books, online tutorials, how-to videos, and community organizations that will assist you along the way. Information has been organized into categories to simplify your search, but as there is crossover in these topics, be sure to look around!
How to Fix Absolutely Anything
There are a million things that can go wrong in your home. This book provides step-by-step instructions to tackle even the most confounding repairs in your home. From changing lightbulbs to fixing a kitchen cabinet hinge, it shares advice and tips from people across the world who face the same problems you do. Includes hundreds of color photographs and easy-to-follow instructions.
How to Do Just About Everything
The experts at eHow know how to do just about everything, and in this comprehensive reference book, they share their know-how with you. Included are 1,001 how-to solutions to help you get the job done. For every task, eHow provides concise step-by-step instructions, helpful tips and warnings, and useful lists. A thorough keyword index makes it simple to find what you need.
How to Fix Just About Everything
In one complete volume are more than 550 do-it-yourself solutions for repairing, mending, undoing and otherwise fixing everything that falls apart, jams, breaks or goes wrong in your daily life. This invaluable collection includes concise instructions, helpful tips and checklists of everything you'll need. Plus, 300 original how-to illustrations make your job even faster and easier.
Online Resources
- ConsumerReports.org This link opens in a new window
From digital cameras to mattresses, search reviews and ratings on thousands of products and services to help you make informed purchases. Includes the full text of Consumer Reports Magazine as well as videos, blogs and forums.
- DIYNetwork.comInspiration and information on DIY projects that include home maintenance and repair, design and décor, crafts and gardening, and much more.
- DoItYourself.comThis website features DIY information on nearly every topic you can name - from vehicle and home repair to interior design to woodworking. The site also hosts an active forum for sharing projects and seeking advice from other do-it-yourselfers.
- HGTV.caIdeas and advice on various DIY renovations and redesigns from the popular TV network. Includes articles, step-by-step instructions, and videos.
- Instructables.comSearch through user submissions for helpful tips, tricks, and instructions on everything from basic repairs to creating a variety of unique items. Paid classes also available.
- WikiHowLearn how to do just about anything in the world - fix a leaky dishwasher, replace a flat tire, build an indoor garden, and more! Use the search bar at the top of the page to find clear, step-by-step instructions on nearly everything you can do yourself.