The Library has approximately 4,000 titles in its Indigenous Resources Collection. This includes materials for children and adult and in different formats. The collection is added to and updated on a regular basis. Keep checking in.
This is a guide to Indigenous-related materials held by the City of Winnipeg Archives. Topics:
• Urban Indigenous Population
• Settler Colonialism
• Building Relationships
• Indian Residential Schools
• The Aqueduct, Shoal Lake, and Winnipeg
• Family History
• Indigenous Achievement
• Researcher Services
Created by The Royal Canadian Geographical Society in conjunction with Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, the Assembly of First Nations, the Métis National Council, the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation and Indspire.
Contains 21 free ebooks - some focused on topics such as Contact, residential schools and the Indian Act, and others on capacity-building for First Nations communities in the area of education.
"The Assembly of First Nations has developed the It's Our Time First Nations Tool Kit as the basis of a comprehensive strategy to reach out to First Nations students, teachers, schools, communities and the Canadian public at large. The resource is designed to bring together First Nations and non-First Nations people and foster a spirit of cooperation, understanding, and action."
"Indigenous Canada is a Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada.
From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations.
Indigenous Canada is for students from faculties outside the Faculty of Native Studies with an interest in acquiring a basic familiarity with Aboriginal/non-Aboriginal relationships."
Produced by the University of Saskatchewan Libraries, this site is an excellent place to begin researching many topics related to First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples in Canada, as well as other Indigenous groups. Topics include Land Claims, Language, Decolonization and Science and Technology - to name just a few. The portal provides access to records for books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps and more. Many of the records contain links to the full-text of the material catalogued.
The IUS at the University of Winnipeg is an academic and applied research centre that focuses on "examines inner city, environmental, Aboriginal and community development issues." This links takes you to the Indigenous peoples-related reports and papers they have digitized.
From canadiana.org, the Aboriginal Studies Collection features "900 titles relating to Canada’s early First Nations Peoples was published from 1558 to 1900 in a variety of countries (Canada, Germany, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States) and in a variety of languages (e.g. Micmac, Iroquois, Mohawk, Chipewyan, Nootka, Chinook, Ojibwa). Here you will find writings on: customs, folklore, spirituality, history, languages, treaties, battles, biographies, relations with the government, cultural assimilation, education, etc."
Launched in November, 2015 the database of the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation at the University of Manitoba provides access to documents related to the work of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada, federal government department documents related to residential school and church records.
Research using the following two resources:
1. Indigenous Peoples of North America: "includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections."
2. Sabin Americana: "Sabin Americana is a collection of 29,000 digitised books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism and more, published from 1500 to the early 1900s."
This section provides links to statistical information gathered about First Nation, Métis and Inuit peoples. You will find statistics about a wide range of topics from basic population data, to education, health and more.
This Statistics Canada site will guide you to a wide range of statistical information regarding First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples. There is information about population counts, health, education, justice and more.
The First Nations Information Governance Centre is an organization created to serve as a steward for First Nations-based information and data. It is also the home organization of the First Nations Regional Longitudinal Health Survey (see our separate entry for information on the Survey). The FNIGC is headquartered in Ottawa with regional centres around the country. In collecting and supporting the collection of information about First Nations peoples the FNIGC is guided by the principles OCAP (Ownership, Control, Access and Possession).
This health survey, also known as the RHS, is a national health survey that is fully directed and controlled by First Nations. It is longitudinal, meaning that information is gathered and compared over long periods of time. The RHS conducted its first (pilot) survey in 1997 with 2 more survey phases conducted in 2002/2003 and 2007/2008. This site provides information about who governs the RHS, its cultural framework, its regional partners, as well many reports (2002/2003) based on the survey information.
Nassautit is a project of the Quajisarvingat Inuit Knowledge Centre (part of national organization Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami). Nassuatit was developed to present statistical information about Inuit health in an accessible way. A holistic approach to health information is presented, with topics ranging from food security and housing to traditional medicines and mainstream health services. The site creates easy-to-read graphs when you select the type of information you are interested in from lists provided.
This page provides data about neighbourhoods in Winnipeg. The data is taken from the 2011 National Household Survey and includes information about the numbers of First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples, as well as the number of people speaking specific First Nations, Métis or Inuit languages. You can find information either by clicking on the map or using the menu at the top of the page.