Welcome to Winnipeg Public Library's Local History Info Guide
From books to online archives, newspaper clippings to historical postcards, Red River to the Winnipeg General Strike, local history associations, museums and more, we hope this Guide supports and inspires your research. Keep checking back for updates or contact us for help with your searching.
You will find in this guide:
Bibliographical lists of titles related to specific Manitoba history topics or about the history of the province in general.
Links to access databases with local history content such as Canadian Reference Centre and Newspaper Archive.
Recommended links to online historical resources and organizations websites that can assist in your research.
Information about the Local History Room collection located on the 4th floor of the Millennium Library branch.
About the Local History Room Collection
The Local History Room was opened in 2005 as part of the renovated Millennium Public branch and is located on the 4th floor. The overall goal of the Local History Room is to raise awareness of the Manitoba's historical heritage through its printed and electronic resources. Its purpose is to provide centralized and easy access to unique and rare resources devoted to the history of the city of Winnipeg and the province of Manitoba, and create an environment that will appeal to general readers as well as researchers. While there are books covering a wide range of topics, the strong points of Local History collection includes: histories of Manitoba communities as well as of the city of Winnipeg Winnipeg, Metis history (including the Riel Rebellion), local genealogy, biographies of local personalities, and rare prints of novels by local authors.
The collection also includes:
Winnipeg Henderson's Directories from 1880 to 2000
Winnipeg and Manitoba telephone directories dating back 100+ years
Local History Clipping Files of local newspaper articles
A collection of magazines focusing on Manitoba topics
Rare prints of fiction titles from Manitoba authors
Have a local history or genealogy question? We are happy to provide you with suggestions for your research. We are also able to complete some searching for you. Examples of searches we conduct are: obituary clippings from select Winnipeg and Manitoba newspapers; city directories listings; Manitoba birth, death and marriage information (as publicly available), census data. *Please note: we may limit the amount of searching we undertake.
Can I get access to archives of Winnipeg and Manitoba newspapers through the Library? Answer: Yes. Find a list of Winnipeg Public Library's archival newspaper holdings in print, microfilm and electronically.
This online database contains more than 2 million historical pages from the Winnipeg Free Press and all its earlier titles, such as the Manitoba Free Press. Dating back to 1874, the pages are fully searchable by name, keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content, research your family history, or simply read about a person or event of interest.
This database contains entire digitized collection of the Winnipeg Tribune, Winnipeg local paper from 1890-1980. Fully searchable by keywords and dates, this is an excellent resource for local events and personalities not covered in the Winnipeg Free Press.